1 2 3 ... 6
mjlogan
mjlogan New Reader
9/2/21 9:49 a.m.

My background is in off road but this contraption I am building seems to fit in here.  I've built numerous prerunners and rock crawlers but never a car.  I guess this isn't quite a car either but close enough.

I picked this guy up in March of this year.  Had not been on the road in 16 years.  1962 Ranchero with a 170 6cyl and 4 speed manual trans.  I immediately rebuilt the carb, replaced the usual hoses/belts/plugs/fuel pump and got it on the road.  Daily drove it from March until 4th of July weekend.  

Here's how it looked on its first drive in 16 years.  It is a 20' er for sure- tons of rust by CA standards and the victim of a low budget "restoration" sometime in the '90s... perfect.  No guilt in cutting it up.

mjlogan
mjlogan New Reader
9/2/21 10:00 a.m.

I started completely falling in love with this thing.  Perfect fit for my lifestyle.  Got mid 20s for mpg, just enough to haul a mountain bike or dirt bike, and I much perfer driving old stuff.  But there were a few things to address right off the bat.

#1 it was geared so low that at 55 mph it sounded like it was going to send the rods through the block

#2 brakes were awful

To fix both of these I decided to convert the front end to 5 lug discs using some granada and mustang parts I gathered on Craigslist.  Did the shelby drop while I was at it.  In the rear I grabbed a 3.27 ratio Explorer 8.8 from the junkyard.  I narrowed it 2.75" by using 2 short side axle shafts and sectioning the long side tube to match. 

Ran all new ni-cu lines, replaced the single pot master with a 2 pot and picked up some cheap 15x7 steel wheels and 225/60r15 tires.  Now anyone who knows these cars knows there is no tire clearance in the rear.  An angle grinder was employed to take care of that.  I felt really bad doing this until I hit bondo that was 1/4" thick.  After that it was all down hill and I ended up with this

RossD
RossD MegaDork
9/2/21 10:04 a.m.