OutrunNAScaR14
OutrunNAScaR14
10/26/21 9:30 a.m.

Hey,

My name is Cody and this is my 1970 Camaro build.

The car has currently been competing the last year and a half, but I will start from the beginning of the build.

The build started in late 2019 from a rusted out '70 Camaro I bought from my dad. There was a local Optima USCA race in June of 2020 and that was the goal for the first event. It took about 8 months to go from the rusted out car to its first race.

I'll go through and explain everything as I post pictures. Essentially when I started building the car, the rules for USCA stated no tube chassis unless it was store bought (Detriot Speed, Speedtech, etc). So I based the front suspension off the factory subframe, but used a C5 Corvette cradle, spindles, and arms. Since these are Uni-body cars, I fab'ed up "Subframe  connectors" for the rear and built a 3 link with a Winters Quickchange. My background is circle track racing so I knew these worked extremely well.

Here is car when I got it;

And here is the car today;

OutrunNAScaR14
OutrunNAScaR14 New Reader
10/26/21 9:39 a.m.

First, I built a jig to set the car on the pinch welds and started cutting. I cut for days it seemed. I retained the factory rockers and laid 2x3 square tubing on their insides and started building the center chassis.

Once the center frame was squared up, the roll cage started. For whatever reason, the headliner in this car was in excellent condition. So basically the entire build is around this headliner I didn't want to remove.

Easily welded all the top joints

Main cage done. The remaining bars will be added later to make working inside the car easier.​​​​​

Racingsnake
Racingsnake Reader
10/26/21 9:53 a.m.

Looks great, I'll be following this! Are the rockers attached to the box section? If so, did you have to notch the rockers or just butt the box alongside?

twentyover
twentyover GRM+ Memberand Dork
10/26/21 10:20 a.m.

Badass

OutrunNAScaR14
10/26/21 1:01 p.m.