jaeedabestt18
jaeedabestt18
1/11/21 11:40 a.m.

Hi All,

Needing some advise about my car. I have a 85 El Camino w/ a sbc 350 Engine that recently stopped running and me not being a mechanic I have no idea what the issue is. So far I have replaced the starter w/ a mini starter, a holley distributor, new cap and rotor, new wires, new plugs, new high rise intake manifold, had the rodchester quadrajet rebuilt and I still get nothing. Im thinking about buying a cam kit but have no idea what to look for. As of right now  all i get from my car is Just turn key and dose not start. Can someone please help me out with my dilemma I am having? Don't have the money to pay for a shop so I'm doing all the work myself based on YouTube videos. If anyone can give me some ideas as to what I'm missing or doing wrong it would be very appreciated! 

Thank you.

914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
1/11/21 1:50 p.m.

"Recently stopped running"

How so?  Clunk to a stop?  Make a high pitch whining noise or is the battery just dead?

Gas - Air - Spark

1SlowVW
1SlowVW HalfDork
1/11/21 2:13 p.m.

Do you have spark? After attempting to start are your plugs wet? Do you have compression? 

914 beat me to it. Start with the basics. 

jaeedabestt18
jaeedabestt18 New Reader
1/11/21 4:22 p.m.

In reply to 914Driver :