1 2
ZOO (Forum Supporter)
ZOO (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
4/18/21 8:52 a.m.

This is my first build thread, ever. 

My partner, Heather,  has been an active HPDE participant over the last six years.  During that time, she's mostly driven my NA Miata.  We've been looking for something different for the last year or so.  The lockdowns have me needing a new project to play with, and most of our HPDE events are a two plus hour drive away.  A bit more "modern" makes sense. 

An E46 M3 almost came to pass, but I was outbid (and with the prices on the rise, I think I am likely out of that scene now.  Heather has always wanted a Mustang, and some research directed us to a 2011+ V6 Mustang.  You know about the Cyclone, right?  300 hp, almost 300 ft/lbs of torque, in a lighter car?  If not, now you do.

We found one locally.  A 2011, with 75k on it (125k, in metric).  Six speed, premium package.  I am unsure if it has the performance package -- it does have a 3.31 rear, and a strut bar.  All 2011+ apparently came with a clutch-type 8.8 rear, too.  I've learned that the V6 cars share the same brake caliper as the V8 cars, though the rotor is smaller. 

The car as delivered.  Note the aggressively large wheels -- 255/40/19 Champiro GTs on 19 x 8.5 STR wheels.  They are coming off the car as part of the build -- planning to run a square 18 set up.

Note the "mesh grill", too.  That's another area of need.

ZOO (Forum Supporter)
4/18/21 8:57 a.m.

A few thoughts on Mustang ownership.  First, black Mustangs seem to get a lot of attention.  More so than my M2 . . . or maybe it's because Heather is much prettier than I am.

Second, this is a really great car.  It seems to have a few aftermarket things -- an "Air Raid" intake (it's loud, but not obnoxious), and some sort of Ford Performance exhaust (more burbly than loud).