1 2 3 ... 8
russian
russian New Reader
2/19/14 7:38 p.m.

DIY as in real Do-It-Yourself from scratch.

I am racing a crapcan Ford Festiva, it used to be 1.3 but we have swapped a 1.8 into it. We are kinda doing fine as is, but for total domination we need a turbo. And a proper turbo build asks for an aftermarket engine control unit. Thing is, in the crapcan series you are supposed to be on budget, so commercial ECU is out of the question. I've checked what open source DIY options are around and they are "kinda blah", and since I am a software developer anyway I've decided to make my own engine control from scratch.

Here is a pic of the crapcan - there was a major bodywork upgrade since but this picture works better for the spirit of GRM :)

ssswitch
ssswitch New Reader
2/19/14 7:43 p.m.

What hardware platform are you basing this on? I heard someone was trying to get an Arduino to run a Miata which seems like it'd be an interesting if constrained choice. I'm not sure if they're really built for the vibration/heat environment of a car either.

Either way it's a project I've wanted to do for awhile too, but I only have software skills and no EE skills so I'd probably spend most of my time figuring out how relays work and worrying about fire.

russian
russian New Reader
2/19/14 7:43 p.m.

Anyway, back to the ECU.

Arduino is a popular DIY platform but I've chosen stm32f4 because it's 168MHz with floating point unit for around $12 - that's a cheap and powerful chip. It's also available as part of a handy stm32f4discovery evaluation board which works great for my prototyping.

Couple of guys have helped me with the electronics and as of today I actually have a running prototype - it's ugly as hell, but it's a standalone engine control unit for under $100 in parts.

Here it is - it's actually called rusEfi:

I've mentioned the name because this project has a website - http://rusefi.com/ - but anyway, I will track my progress here.

russian
russian New Reader