Bub2000
Bub2000
4/3/17 7:43 p.m.

I'm restoring my grandfather's 1951 Buick Special, and it's my first time working on an older car. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to how to go about it.

Agent98
Agent98 New Reader
4/3/17 8:02 p.m.

make a list of what it needs to be "restored" in your eyes.

(frame off complete restos can be ~ 1000 hrs of work at shop rates $60-75/hr, PLUS parts cost. If you can even find some parts for an uncommon older car like a '51. So, that's a lot of time/money.)

find an old car forum like jalopyjournal (H.A.M.B) or a buick webpage. There's a lot of make/model specific info at those sites.

get a repair manual if you can find one, tells you how to fix things, what torque reading for bolts etc..

Skervey
Skervey HalfDork
4/3/17 8:33 p.m.

As said above another forum would help with an older car a bit better. Also if you need to order parts try to call and order them over the phone, you might get lucky and find someone who really knows there stuff. Plus iv gotten free shipping and some other perks from the salesmen if you are nice to them and they are cool.

Good luck on the build!

Crackers
Crackers Reader
4/3/17 8:48 p.m.
Skervey wrote: As said above another forum would help with an older car a bit better. Also if you need to order parts try to call and order them over the phone, you might get lucky and find someone who really knows there stuff. Plus iv gotten free shipping and some other perks from the salesmen if you are nice to them and they are cool. Good luck on the build!

^This.

Talking to the right sales rep makes all the difference in classic car restorations. I got real spoiled living in So Cal, plus our stock car team was sponsored by a junkyard that specialized in pre-75 cars only. So the guys were probably a lot more helpful for us than I probably should have gotten accustomed to.

Secondly...

Thirdly...

What kind of restoration are you wanting to do?