1 2 3
James O'Day
James O'Day New Reader
2/23/20 10:48 a.m.

Hi, First post here. I'm a semi retired engineer with a shop and a little time. I'm building a Ford Ranger Cam-T and rallycross truck. The  chassis is custom designed and drivetrain is from a 15 Mustang.  In the mid 80's the SCCA sanctioned mini truck racing and this build is a tribute to that era.

The racing tires are a bit wider. 

The goal weight is 2650lbs + ballast to required weight.

I'm using a 3.7 cyclone engine. 

Trent
Trent PowerDork
2/23/20 10:53 a.m.

Allow me to be the first to tip my hat to this beautiful build

Wow

bluej
bluej GRM+ Memberand UberDork
2/23/20 11:18 a.m.

uh, yeah. we're gonna need a lot more info. laugh Looks great!

noddaz
noddaz GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/23/20 11:37 a.m.

Looking GREAT!

James O'Day
James O'Day New Reader
2/23/20 11:51 a.m.

In reply to Trent :

Thanks, it has been a labor of love, lol.

James O'Day
James O'Day New Reader
2/23/20 11:52 a.m.

In reply to bluej :

Thanks, I will post as the project progresses!

slowbird
slowbird Dork
2/23/20 1:57 p.m.

Heck yeah! More Ranger content is always welcome!

maschinenbau
maschinenbau GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/23/20 2:32 p.m.

Awesome!

What's your plan for switching between autocross and rallycross? I'm struggling with that myself.

gumby
gumby GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
2/23/20 6:23 p.m.

I see the majority of the rear cradle. Is the front geometry based on the s550 Mustang at all?

James O'Day
James O'Day New Reader
2/23/20 7:34 p.m.

To go Rallycrossing,  I'll remove the ballast, front air dam and add  softer springs, off road tires, and a skid plate .

The rear cradle was used to hold the Mustang differential, but the front and rear suspension geometry are both unique to this chassis. Both are double a-arms. The roll center, anti-lift and anti-dive geometry are also designed for this chassis.

I have plans to build customs knuckles/spindles at some point.

pres589 (djronnebaum)