KonaBoss
KonaBoss New Reader
10/30/18 3:13 a.m.

Hey all,

After selling the '95 mustang off and transferring the lease on my fiesta, I was in the position of searching for another cheap daily/winter beater/minor project car, since I know myself and the fact that I just cant leave anything alone.. And that is where the panther platform fits into the picture. For those that are unaware, the panther platform dates back to the mid-80's and hosted such legendary cars such as the crown vic, marauder, grand marquis, and town car. 

Through the years Ford did both minor and major refinements to the platform. The cars that are most desirable to us gearheads are the '03+ models, since they got rack and pinion steering (vs the older recirculating ball), an upgraded frame, an aluminum front cradle, and a host of other refinements over the previous cars. 

So what drives me to own a panther? Well, to start off I have had some experience with these cars previously. I had a 2011 ex-interceptor for about 8 months that I rallycrossed and did the Gambler 500 in, so I definitely have a good feel for the abuse that this platform can take. I also owned an '04 Marauder for 2 weeks (long story), which was quite a steaming pile... 

Otherwise, I find that I enjoy the full size sedan ride quality on the godawful roads here in Michigan in winter (and in summer who am I kidding...). Also, other than being pretty hefty and a little underpowered, the panther platform is actually pretty underrated if you ask me. With a solid axle and watts link suspension setup from rear in the factory, and dual a-arms up front with coilovers these heavy beasts do pretty good for their size, especially in police interceptor trim.