1 2
locofinn
locofinn New Reader
2/3/14 3:23 p.m.

After completing my first season of autocross and a few track days, I thought I would post my scratch built toy here. I am calling it a Spectre Super 7. Spectre meaning "fearsome apparition or ghost" in an effort to intimidate my competition.

It will never be "completed" but here is the info and build pics as well as pics as it sits today. I have about 600+ hours into it including my welding classes I took at the local community college. It is my first build of any kind. I did this in 1/2 of a 2 car garage at home. BTW, I also have a very patient wife who did not mind occasional small fires in the garage.

Chassis • Custom scratch built “Book” sized Mig welded with Std Mig Mix Argon/CO2 • 1” 16ga mild steel square and round tube with 16ga stitch welded floor and various extra strengthening tubes. • 1½” .095 wall DOM Seamless Roll hoop front and rear integrated into frame per SCCA Solo rules and SCCA GCR rules • Two 2” x ¼” steel drive shaft hoops (required for Modified SCCA rules) • Completed bare frame is 240 lbs

Body • Handmade .040 half hard aluminum sheet panels • Nose cone fiberglass S2 repoduction • 10” Front cycle fenders from Coveland • Rear fenders handmade .040 aluminum with integral rear spoiler/boot deck • Dash Gauge Plate 1/8” 5052 aluminum plate • Aero Belly pans .040 aluminum