barefootskater
barefootskater Dork
10/15/19 9:43 p.m.

In keeping with the startathreadbeforetakingposessionofthecaryet theme, I present my forever car:

This ratty 1973 Super Beetle

from this thread a while back:

Barefootskater said: 

I want a mid 70s super beetle (should've never sold my 73) build a high strung 1776 with a carb throat for each hole, good heads, a rather silly cam, strong freeway trans (overdriven 4th, make 3rd WORK dammit), disc brakes everywhere, try to balance the car better (maybe fiberglass rear fenders and decklid), and empty my bank account on the suspension. Like a wannabe 914 but cheaper and, dare I say, better looking. (Runs and hides)

I've been dreaming about doing this for a couple years now and my fascination with light small cars just makes it worse. That and I have ACVW in my blood.

Some history: I grew up in SoCal, raised by VW people. My parents are building a ‘59. My mom has had several over the years, my step dad has had them too. His step dad was a VW guy way back when and when I say I have ACVW in my blood I really mean it. The first car I ever bought? VW. What did I learn to wrench on? You guessed it. 

So in an effort to not hate myself I have been avoiding CL for a while and I’m not on FB. My amazing wife however, is, and she likes to enable me. So yesterday she shows me the ad and says “when are you ever going to find another one for that price?” So this evening I went to see it, no real rust, complete minus a few small and easily sourced parts, and not too far away. A deal was made and I’ll be towing the thing home tomorrow if all goes well. 

This is gonna be slow. I have small kids, a challenge car build for 2020, and in the near future will be taking a pay cut to start a new career path.  But this is what I want. I want a Super. I want a 1.6 that’ll rev to the sky. I want a dropped VW that is loud and proud. I won’t win many races but I’ll have fun anyway. 

I love my wife. 

preach
preach GRM+ Memberand New Reader