SVDP
SVDP New Reader
2/21/20 10:58 a.m.

Hi All

Im new to this and asking your advice on the Triumph TR3A its been fully restored.  Are they a good run aroung 4 to 5k miles per year.  I am 6ft 5"

Spencer

TurnerX19
TurnerX19 Dork
2/22/20 9:58 a.m.

They are mechanically stout cars if properly maintained. Your height will be an issue. If it is long legs you will be uncomfortable for long drives. If it is long torso you will look over the windshield. They steer poorly too, but can be converted to rack & pinion.

spitfirebill
spitfirebill MegaDork
2/29/20 12:21 p.m.

In reply to TurnerX19 :

A properly rebuilt original steering box works wonders for handling.

TurnerX19
TurnerX19 Dork
2/29/20 3:51 p.m.

In reply to spitfirebill :

I respectfully disagree with that, I have never seen one with more than 10k miles on it that worked well, and I have worked on/ driven a dozen TR3s

tr8todd
tr8todd SuperDork
3/1/20 5:20 a.m.

Great little cars.  Awesome driving experience with the low slung doors.  You feel like you can touch the ground as you are driving.  Very stout mechanicals and they are actually pretty quick.  Not for big guys.  You want a Triumph and are a large human, you should be looking at TR8s.  No first hand knowledge about the steering box, except for the fact that over the years I have sold half a dozen or so TR7 steering racks to TR3 owners for conversions.

spitfirebill
spitfirebill MegaDork
3/2/20 2:09 p.m.
TurnerX19 said:

I respectfully disagree with that, I have never seen one with more than 10k miles on it that worked well, and I have worked on/ driven a dozen TR3s

The Roadster  Factory used to rebuild steering boxes sent in by customers.  Not sure if they still do, but the customer satisfaction was high.  I have no idea if they held up to higher mileage. 

Stu Lasswell
Stu Lasswell New Reader
5/24/20 2:00 p.m.