1 2
ojannen
ojannen Reader
4/20/20 8:25 a.m.

Once the quarantine ends, my wife and I are going to start work on a garage in our back yard.  I am a semi-professional musician as my primary hobby/side job and I want to make the garage space a good place to play music in addition to a place to work on cars.  Since we are building from scratch, we can put the appropriate amount of concrete in place for any type of lift.  I don't want a 2 or 4 post lift because it will cut down on visibility across the room when using it for music.

What are my options here?  I am looking for something that raises higher than a quickjack.  I see a bunch of scissor lifts on facebook marketplace and craigslist for under $750 but I don't know the pros and cons.  A single post lift that is attached to the floor an ceiling could work too if I can put the one big post against the wall.  Are there any other styles that fit my needs?

EvanB (Forum Supporter)
EvanB (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/20/20 8:28 a.m.

Do people still use these? Is the reason they aren't more popular the installation cost requiring more excavation?

In reply to EvanB (Forum Supporter) :

My understanding is that in ground lift like this have environmental/EPA issues with the hydraulic oil leaking into the ground. Plus cost to dig a large pit and foundation.

ojannen
ojannen Reader
4/20/20 8:51 a.m.

In reply to EvanB (Forum Supporter) :

That was my original plan but it looks like there are some serious environmental concerns.  I also live in Florida and the water table is about 6" under the surface.   I can't imagine those are easy to service.

the_machina
the_machina Reader
4/20/20 9:13 a.m.

What about a maxjax and then when you're not using it just remove the post that's in the middle of the space and store it in a corner. Maxjax are sort of intended to be installed and removed over and over, so shouldn't take much to switch from "two post working garage" to "pretty darn open".