1 2
thedoc
thedoc GRM+ Memberand Reader
5/12/20 1:51 p.m.

Hey All,

I am trying to learn using flux core and a harbor freight welder.  All I want to do is stitch weld sheet metal on cars.  I am having a miserable time.  One minute I think it's good and the next I am burning through.  I am practicing on metal I picked out of an autobody dumpster.  

I've been told  by a  couple of self taught people that flux core is harder to learn?  Is the harbor freight wire junk as well?  I'm looking at videos of course.  Chris fix just did a video that made it look easy to stich weld, but he was using a cheap gas set up.

What say you?

Doc

Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter)
Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
5/12/20 1:55 p.m.

"They Say" that the HF wire is not as good as the name brand wires from welding supply stores.  Just keep practicing. If you can, put one of the copper HF spoon thingies behind it and it won't tend to burn through.

Stampie (FS)
Stampie (FS) GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
5/12/20 1:57 p.m.

You can also use the NOHOME method of a series of tack welds.

Trent (Generally supportive dude)
Trent (Generally supportive dude) PowerDork
5/12/20 2:03 p.m.

I work with 4 auto body guys. They are replacing sheet metal 5 days a week 8 hours a day. I am not sure I have ever seen any of them run a bead. All they do is overlap tacks.  

Trev's Blog is a great resource

JBinMD
JBinMD New Reader
5/12/20 3:21 p.m.

Welding thin sheet metal with fluxcore (especially HorribleFright flux wire in a HorribleFright welder) is a complete PITA if not impossible.  If you absolutely cannot find a gas mig welder to use, then see if you can make some copper or aluminum backing strips to put up against the back of whatever sheet metal you are welding.  They work as both a heat sink to pull heat out of the weld bead, and as a backer to hold the liquid metal in place to prevent it from falling out.  

Curtis73 (Forum Supporter)
Curtis73 (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/12/20 3:26 p.m.