1 2
golfduke
golfduke HalfDork
10/27/16 9:23 a.m.

As the title states, really. I have 2 cars that I have very different goals for, but both of them involve being caged. I value the art of learning, researching, and am not afraid of sweat equity or failures and bumps along the road. So I want to learn how to design, bend, and build a cage on my own. I'm a competent welder and have a 230v Hobart Mig that I am more than confident with.

The rest... I need some help with. I've read all of the cage rules and regulations for the series' that I plan to run either car in. Then I've re-read them. I'm familiar with the terminology and basic protocol of how to assemble the cage, but I could use a lot of advice and helpful hints on making the process a little easier.

I'm also looking for input on which tools will be 1) absolutely required, 2) very strongly recommended, and 3) makes life much easier but not really required in order to build more than 1 cage. I don't want to rent or borrow, considering I plan to use them down the road as well. I also have a nice enough space that I am okay with storing bulky tools that sit idle for long periods of time.

Input on materials and design bits would also be appreciated, especially when involving E30's and E36 BMW's, haha. Basically, I'm in the process of stripping and prepping the car now, and want to start bending/welding around the holidays. I'd also be interested in reading any books that may have been written that people recommend.

Any and all advice/input is appreciated, except 'bring the car to a professional and pay them to do it'. That's not my point or goal. I want to learn how to do this. I don't care about the net cost benefits or time investment or anything else. I understand explicitly that I'll make mistakes, need to redo things, and that my first example wont be my best... but I still want to do it. It's a pride thing. I hope you guys understand.

Thanks, Paul

TED_fiestaHP
TED_fiestaHP New Reader
10/27/16 9:28 a.m.