1 2
Racingsnake
Racingsnake New Reader
7/23/20 11:55 p.m.

Might be picking up a very rough but very cheap Sunbeam Alpine. Thinking of making it into a ratty fun car for hooning around in - fender flares, big Minilites, V8 of some description and maybe sidepipes. Anyone got any good pics of old race cars or Sunbeam hot rods for inspiration?

NickD
NickD UltimaDork
7/24/20 7:14 a.m.
wheelsmithy (Joe-with-an-L) (Forum Supporter) said:

That was the one I was going to post. Ooooh, that one was nasty. It had a 427 FE as I recall. And NASCAR steelies

Floating Doc (Forum Supporter)
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UberDork
7/24/20 8:15 a.m.

Took these a few weeks ago. Owner said he drives the hell out of it.

I'm no expert on these.

I suspect that it would have to be pretty trashed to not be worth it much more financially to restore. 

Racingsnake
Racingsnake New Reader
7/24/20 9:47 a.m.
NickD said:

That was the one I was going to post. Ooooh, that one was nasty. It had a 427 FE as I recall. And NASCAR steelies

That's gnarly, love it!

Racingsnake
Racingsnake New Reader
7/24/20 9:49 a.m.
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) said:

I suspect that it would have to be pretty trashed to not be worth it much more financially to restore. 

Nice Tiger. I'm looking at a very trashed Alpine, it would not be worth the money to make it nice.

wspohn
wspohn Dork
7/24/20 11:01 a.m.

Problem with your concept is that any trashed Alpine is almost sure to be seriously rusty and fixing that style of body design can be pretty expensive (just ask any Austin Healey or Jensen owner). Plus the inherent limitations of the rather odd choice of wheel size (13" doesn't allow air to cool the existing brakes, much less the fitment or larger brakes to give really decent stopping) is a consideration.

They were a bit heavy and fairly slow, but neither of those matters for your purpose.