1 2
Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/23/12 5:03 p.m.

Any tips? I've been volunteered to be an instructor for a novice autocross school this Saturday. I've been autocrossing for about 5 years, but never been an instructor. Looking for suggestions, not necessarily on how to drive, but on what to have students concentrate on first, other than not getting lost.

DaveEstey
DaveEstey Dork
2/23/12 5:08 p.m.

Keep their head up. Commit to inputs. Breathe. No chopping steering wheel inputs. Breathe.

fast_eddie_72
fast_eddie_72 SuperDork
2/23/12 5:17 p.m.

I do the novice schools here when I can. For folks just getting started (I try to get the most novice novices I can so I don't feel slower than my "students") it's mostly about "look ahead" and being smooth. Slow in the slow parts, fast in the fast parts and understanding lines- why we late apex so much. Most of the time, we're talking about things like hand placement on the wheel and how to get thorugh the slalom. People who are starting out - and me- tend to be really late through the slaloms.

irish44j
irish44j SuperDork
2/23/12 5:24 p.m.

Here are a couple of good instructor videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzrXwgMSy1Y

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1ngA4IHnAQ&feature=related

Toyman01
2/23/12 5:38 p.m.

In reply to irish44j:

I guess that would get me un-volunteered pretty quick.

jrw1621
jrw1621 SuperDork
2/23/12 6:48 p.m.

Absorb all that you can from here and then regurgitate the key points back to the young'ens.
http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/video-training-autocrossing-with-dick-turner/33988/page1/

wlkelley3
wlkelley3 Dork
2/23/12 7:02 p.m.