1 2
ChrisTheSwede
ChrisTheSwede New Reader
5/30/14 10:29 p.m.

Hi!

I'm looking to get into Rallycross and the goal is to do my first event October 11th at Glen Helen. Woop!

I don't have a car yet though, and I need your advice. I know I want an RWD, and I'm pretty sure that I want to be in Stock or Prepared to start off with. These have been my options:

Volvo 240

This is where I come from and I know the car well. Cons: It's too big and heavy.

Toyota Starlet

Size is perfect. I'd also like to continue building on one and go to Modified/Open stage rally with it in the future. IMPOSSIBLE to find a decent one in the states though, I also think it's way underpowered for Stock and Prepared?

Toyota MR2

I'm just learning about this car, and I've seen it being somewhat successful in Rallycross. Probably the best candidate so far. Unknown territory though.

Any thoughts and advises on any of these cars? Anything I missed? (Mazda is not on the table)

I've seen there are some MR2 users on the forum but I'm not allowed to send PMs it seems. If you read this, please let me know.

Cheers!

Chris

irish44j
irish44j PowerDork
5/30/14 11:31 p.m.

Everybody here loves the Starlet. But good luck finding one in decent shape. Parts not that easy to come by. Really short wheelbase could be a negative for rallycross. And in stock or prepared class it's way underpowered compared to cars you'd face. Engine swap for MR, that's a different story.

I would rank the 240 high. It's what I was going to get before I got what I got. Not sure why you think it's too big and heavy, the 240 has a long rally heritage in Europe. It's more or less just a Volvo equivalent of the e30, except with easier Turbo availability. I think not as many people use them because they're hard to find in manual transmission these days (at least in this area). I'm thinking about picking up a 240 wagon someday for some kind of motorsports TBD, just because a motorsports 240 wagon is, simply, awesome.