Elijahsp
Elijahsp New Reader
6/10/19 11:52 a.m.

So recently I’ve bought a 2006 Nissan 350z and would like to start building the engine up so I can turbocharge it. Only problem is this is my first car I’ve done work to so I have no idea where to start. So I was hoping for some advice on what parts would be needed and if I should go with a twin turbo setup or just single? I know it’s kind of a broad question but I’m relatively new to the car community so any tips or advice on the build would be appreciated

AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/10/19 11:57 a.m.

Welcome to GRM!  now please let me bombard you with questions:

how long have you owned this car?

how long have you been driving?

how will this car be used?   daily commuter?  pizza delivery at night?  mad dorifto weekend warrior?

because the answer to each of these questions will influence the answers to the questions you posted.

sorry to sound like an old man, but that's exactly what i am.  ;-)

Elijahsp
Elijahsp New Reader
6/10/19 12:18 p.m.

Thank you for the welcome!

I’ve Owned it for about 7-8 months now

I've been driving for about 4 years now but this is my first manual car

i use it as a daily but I enjoy going to car shows with it and may possibly start taking it to the track once it has some work

jstein77
jstein77 UltraDork
6/10/19 12:27 p.m.

Okay, Elijah, I think there's one thing you need to do before you do anything at all with it (assuming it runs and drives safely as is).  You need to go to an autocross and get your feet wet with motorsports.  That may influence your decision as to how to modify the car later.  You will also have the opportunity to speak to others in a similar position to find what works and what doesn't on the Z.

JoeyM
JoeyM Mod Squad
6/10/19 12:31 p.m.

watching this with interest

79rex
79rex New Reader
6/10/19 12:32 p.m.