1 2
tfunder
tfunder
8/31/21 4:46 p.m.

Hi all,

This is my first post. I have been lurking for (quite) some time because whenever I'm goooogling for something racing+diy I tend to end up here - so I though it was time for a bit of pay-it-back :-)

Disclaimer: I am an IT guy, no even worse I'm an IT manager ;-) so by continuing reading you accept that I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing. This could break, burn, short or disperse radiation on an unknown wavelength. Also I am not offering 24x7 support, in fact please consider this 'grabware'. You grab it, and see if you can make it work for your purpose.

That being said, I'd try to help if I can ;-)

Background: I was looking for some corner weights, but was not able to find anything suitable (read:cheap) enough in my  part of the world. So I went online and found some cheap(ish) parcel scales from eBay. They are only rated for 300kg, but since my car is in the 975-1050kg range that was ok. AFAIK most 'budget' scales are constructed more or less similar so I would assume other rated scales would work just as fine.

Solution: I found out that cutting the original wiring of the scale, replacing it with 4x HX711 load cell amplifiers connected to an Arduino worked perfect. Adding in some LCD displays, wiring,  network cables, 3D printed parts and a plastic box and I ended up with this:

(With my foot on FR scale just to show some numbers)

I'd be happy to share wiring diagrams, arduino code etc. if anyone is interested. 

I had some of the parts, connectors, wiring etc, but estimated cost is around €335/USD400.

alfadriver
alfadriver MegaDork
8/31/21 4:49 p.m.

Where did you find load cells?  That's really cool.

APEowner
APEowner GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/31/21 4:51 p.m.

Welcome. That's a heck of a first post and a very cool project.  I'm sure I speak for others when I say that we'd like to see whatever you're willing to share.

tfunder
tfunder New Reader
8/31/21 4:51 p.m.

Load cells are in the scales ;-)