Gearhead_42
Gearhead_42 HalfDork
8/4/08 11:37 a.m.

I'm just getting started in this endeavor... Shot some experimental in car videos at our last autocross, recorded 9/10 runs, using different settings to see how things worked. Tenth I had my wife shoot from outside... she needs some lessons on camera control, but otherwise it looks pretty good

Now comes time to edit for home use, as well as posting up on the intarwebz so you all can critique my driving! Video was shot using a Panasonic DV-320 MinDV camcorder in widescreen, using an IOPort mount on my roll bar. That's not really the question though...

Given that I have to edit on a Vista machine, over FireWire to the camera, any recommendations on a basic set of software tools, and possibly a Level2 for when I want to add effects/labels/music etc? What's the "accepted" resolution for web hosted videos? Length/size restrictions? Anyone have experience hosting with flickr, or should I just post to youtube and be done with it?

I'm a rank newb at playing with video, so be gentle

aircooled
aircooled Dork
8/4/08 1:21 p.m.

As far as editing, there should be some sort of built in video tool for Vista, I know there was on in XP. That should be a good basic starting point (and does have a fair number of features) Of course it probably depends on what "level" of Vista you have. A step up may be the "light" version of Premiere:

http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-25530473-Premiere-Elements-4/dp/B000UK6OUK

Hey, it's even got a rebate! Only $55.

If you don't have a lot of hard drive space, you might consider a large firewire or USB2 external drive (uncompressed video takes up a lot of space)

slantvaliant
slantvaliant New Reader
8/4/08 2:07 p.m.

Nothing sophisticated here. I use Windows Movie Maker on an XP machine, and post on Youtube. Youtube says I can load up to 10 minutes and 1024MB

Beware, some cameras like my Samsung SCD363 use oddball codecs

SupraWes
SupraWes HalfDork
8/4/08 4:42 p.m.