1 2

I track and autocross a 2009 Porsche Cayman S. I have been running on Bridgestone RE-71R tires for the past several years. I recently needed to replace my RE-71 R's but the new RE-71 RS were on back order at the time so I purchased my first set of Falken RT660 tires through Tire Rack. I just did an HPDE at Weather Tech Laguna Seca. The Falken RT660's had approximately 400 highway miles by the time I arrived at the track. After 17 laps the front left tire started to show visible tread splice or delamination at the seam.  During the manufacturing phase, before a tire goes into a mold to cure and get its final shape, a wide sheet of uncured tread rubber is wrapped around the tire casing above the steel belts. There is a beveled junction where the ends of the sheet meet, which becomes invisible when the tire cures in the mold. Sometimes braking force or torque from wheel spin or acceleration can put enough stress on the junction to cause it to become visible as a line that runs across part or all of the tread area.  When I returned home I found the other three tires were showing early signs of visible tread splice as well. Tire Rack says visible tread splice is not covered under warranty or the road hazard policy however I can purchase another set of Falkens or any other brand of my choice and Tire Rack says Falken, out of goodwill, has been refunding the purchase price prorated for wear based upon the remaining tread depth when returned and inspected. Tire Rack will pay for the UPS return shipping of the delaminated tires and pay up to $25 per tire for mounting and balancing which, by the way, does not cover the average cost to mount and balance a tire in Los Angeles. Tire Rack says they have not heard of anyone experiencing tire failure. It was suggested to rotate the tires but  the tires are directional, the front and rear tires are different sizes and, frankly, I want what I paid for - four new tires that don't have visible tread splice after one track day. Plu