1 2 3
BigEgyptian
BigEgyptian New Reader
4/22/21 7:57 a.m.

Hi everyone,

Thinking about buying a fun car, and I feel like I keep running myself in circles

When thinking about a fun car for me, must haves:

- Manual transmission

- Occasional autocross or track day (not going for any trophies here, I'm a total newbie)

- Cruising on nice weather days, or drive it around town for errands

- Nice enought to take my wife out on date nights (when we actually start going out again)

- Budget $20K

Nice to haves:

- Classic car (pre 73)

- Open top (convertible, targa, T-top...etc)

The priorities here are fun to drive; great handling, steering feel, good shifter feel. Outright power is not a must for me. I would emphasize handling & responsiveness over raw power.

Easy so far, right?
Now comes the fun part...

I have 3 kids, aged 4 - 11 yrs old, that makes 5 of us - 1 car seat.

Is there a car that can fit all the above criteria, And the whole family?

Take the family out of the equation, I get a host of fun cars... anywhere from Miatas, Locosts, Caterham/Lotus 7s, S2000s and the whole gamut of roadsters.

Add in the space needed for the family and you're talking full size convertibles like the Pontiac Lemans and the Bonneville. Great on space, but not what I'd call 'fun to drive'. Add to that the fact that we're all tall - I'm 6'3", 190lbs; wife's 5'8"; 11 year old is 5'10"... etc), and you can probably see the dilemma I'm in here.

At the very least, I'd like something cool with enough space to take my 2 sons with me to the track day/autocross; a chance for bonding and also to fire up some of the dormant petrol running in their veins.

Cars I've thought considered:

Porsche 911s (higher mileage 996 ), newer (2005-) Camaros & Mustangs, BMW 135, BRZ/FRS twins, 350z, Classic Mustangs, 

Are there any cars out there that I've missed?

Sorry for the long post 

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
4/22/21 8:08 a.m.