Woodyhfd
Woodyhfd GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
7/13/08 9:43 p.m.

I've never used JB Weld before, but as I recall, you can drill and tap this stuff, right?

In an effort to be really thorough in my Honda Mini Trail project: http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/71-honda-ct70-mini-trail-vintage-pit-bike-update/1645/page1/

I managed to strip out two threaded holes in the carb while cleaning it and putting in new o-rings. I'm not sure if its white metal or aluminum. On one of the bad holes, I can just run a longer bolt straight through, but the other is a blind hole. I was going to drill and tap for the next size up, but I'm not sure how much material is there.

Can I use JB Weld for this, or is there another option (besides a new carb)?

oldopelguy
oldopelguy HalfDork
7/13/08 10:03 p.m.

Small stuff like that I usually go with as small a threadsert or helicoil as I can get away with, even smaller than the original size if need be so long as the outside of the insert is as close to the original size as I can get away with. Easy enough to get a new, stronger little bolt (I like titanium myself) and you don't have to change or damage much.

porksboy
porksboy HalfDork
7/13/08 10:07 p.m.

Loc-tite had a product on the market a few years ago that was made for just such occasions. Unfortunatly I cant remember the name of it but you put this goo in the hole and then put a release agent on the bolt and loosly assembled the part, the stuff cures in the hole and you can tighten the bolt and remove it later. Havent seen it in a while tho but Im sure its still out there. Of course the proper way would be a Helicoil....... Or maybe Miata?

Woodyhfd
7/13/08 10:28 p.m.

This is for a tiny, fine thread screw and there's not a lot of metal around it, so I don't think a Helicoil is an option. I'll look for the Loc-tite stuff.

oldopelguy
oldopelguy HalfDork
7/13/08 10:57 p.m.

Check McMaster-Carr for tiny helicoils, all the way down to #2 or 3mm.