1 2
Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
9/9/19 8:57 a.m.

I was able to get a used top for my 1999 Miata that is in fantastic shape. I believe it's canvas or some other type of cloth. It is definitely an aftermarket top. There seems to be some heavy spotting and dirt accumulation on the top right above the bows and around the window. I'd like to clean this top and make it look nice for the challenge and for the life after the challenge.

I am completely new to this and Google has been confusing at best.

So what do I need to know, purchase, and do?

Pictures are of what I'm talking about. I can make some of the stuff in the heaviest deposit area on the very top kind of crumble with my thumbnail if that helps at all.

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/9/19 8:59 a.m.

Is it a fabric top or a vinyl one? It does look like fabric to me, but it's important to establish which one it is before picking a cleaner.

I've used this kit from 303 on my 996 and my S2000 and am happy with it so far. Link is to the fabric version, but they do a vinyl one as well: https://www.amazon.com/303-30520-Convertible-Fabric-Cleaning/dp/B000A8JNF0

Dusterbd13-michael
9/9/19 9:07 a.m.

I am almost 100% certain that it is a fabric. Not sure what kind of fabric but it is definitely not like the vinyl tops that I had on my other Miatas

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 UltimaDork
9/9/19 9:09 a.m.

Almost certain it was the 303 kit that I used on wifey's 328iC.  The top was dingy looking, kinda gray.  After cleaning and treatment, it looked like new.  Recommended.

Dusterbd13-michael
9/9/19 9:43 a.m.

Will the 303 kit deal with that much swelling and dirt or do I need to start with something more aggressive?

glueguy
glueguy GRM+ Memberand Dork
9/9/19 10:05 a.m.

I like Raggtop products - they have both a cleaner and a treatment/water repellant.

Raze
Raze UltraDork
9/9/19 10:23 a.m.