1 2
Lof8 - Andy
Lof8 - Andy GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/7/20 8:33 a.m.

I am no expert in tax laws.  But, I have a Facebook friend, who is an accountant, made a recent post about "if your business loses money, it can be a tax deduction", or something to that effect.  Also, many years ago, my Dad had created a business for personal car/racing related expenses.  As far as I can remember, that kind of fizzled out a couple of years after he created it.  I'm sure my parts purchases , race entry, repair, etc costs for a year are somewhere up around $10k or so.

So, who has done this?  What are the advantages and disadvantages?  Am I being deceptive if I have no real intent to "make" money with this business entity?  I don't know enough to know what questions to ask, so please enlighten me.  Thanks!

ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
10/7/20 8:34 a.m.
Lof8 - Andy said:

Am I being deceptive if I have no real intent to "make" money with this business entity? 

yes

Brotus7
Brotus7 Dork
10/7/20 8:38 a.m.

Quick Google brought me here:. Seems like a good way to meet some people I'd rather not meet

Hobby as a business

John Welsh (Moderate Supporter)
John Welsh (Moderate Supporter) Mod Squad
10/7/20 8:40 a.m.

Rent a Racer. 

Offer arrive and drive for customers. Deduct the truck, trailer, as well as the car prep and repairs. 

You might find a couple of years into it that your business plan is flawed and your loosing money and failing to attract customers. 

The IRS doesn't really grade you on how smart of a business plan you had just as long as it passes a little scrutiny of being a real "try". 

Patrick (Forum Supporter)
Patrick (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/7/20 8:44 a.m.

Yeah, don't listen to shady accountant guy.  

i go above and beyond to limit my audit risk as someone who has a real business and all my ducks are in a row.  I would not want to get an audit where i was masking a hobby as a legit enterprise to write off toys.  

AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter)