Racingsnake Reader
12/26/21 12:30 p.m.

Anyone use these or anything similar?

https://www.lightbarheadlamp.com/pages/techspecs

gimmicky or worth the money?

Run_Away
Run_Away GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/26/21 12:54 p.m.

I have no experience with those, but I absolutely love and highly recommend my Streamlight headlamp for something tough, effective, and comfortable.

rustyvw
rustyvw GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/26/21 12:56 p.m.

I've got something like that at work, it puts out a lot of light, but you can't aim it.  I prefer the smaller headlamps that can be aimed up or down so they shine on whatever your working on.  

bgkast
bgkast GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
12/26/21 1:45 p.m.

I bought one of the lightbar head bands off of Amazon for about $20. It works great, casting a wide beam that lets you use your peripheral vision and see what's around you and not just right in front of you. The down side is that it creates extreme glare blinding those around you.

Floating Doc (Forum Supporter)
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
12/26/21 2:52 p.m.

I use headlamps a lot, both at work and home. I haven't tried one of these. 

Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter)
Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
12/26/21 6:25 p.m.

Disappointed that this thread isn't about the first gen Mercury Sable:

Toyman!
Toyman! GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/26/21 7:16 p.m.

My son has one. He loves it. I refuse to work with him or be near him if he is using it and he is banned from bringing it camping. It throws light everywhere instead of the one place you need it and blinds anyone near at the same time. 

If you are by yourself they are great, otherwise they are annoying as hell to everyone around you. 

Racingsnake
Racingsnake Reader
12/28/21 1:53 a.m.

Thanks for the replies. I'd be using it when I'm working by myself so the glare isn't going to bother anyone.  I like the idea of a large area being illuminated rather than just a spot.