DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
1/20/22 11:09 a.m.

Not being a professional tech anymore, I just need something that allows me to do what I consider the basic stuff. I'd like to read and reset codes (engine, trans, abs, SRS), maybe change preferences (turn off dinging when the door opens, stuff like that) and the like. I want to do these things on North American, European, and Asian cars. I had a Snap On scanner and hated to buy modules for everything. Bi-directional would be awesome, but I don't expect that at this price range. 
Oh, and less than $200 would be bestest.
I was looking at Carly, but just want to know what others are using.

calteg
calteg Dork
1/20/22 11:11 a.m.

I seem to keep falling into Toyota/Lexus hybrids, recently it's been the Dr. Prius app with a generic bluetooth OBD reader

P5Racer (formerly BMWGeoff)
P5Racer (formerly BMWGeoff) GRM+ Memberand Reader
1/20/22 11:15 a.m.

I'm a former tech as well... I have a Launch CRP123, and it was the best value I could find ($300 Canadian) at the time. I believe the CRP129 is the newer version.

https://en.cnlaunch.com/prod_view.aspx?TypeId=10&Id=168&FId=t3:10:3

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/20/22 11:29 a.m.

My personal scantool is a Mac ET1205AN.  Cheap and fast and gives me some generic data.  No bidirectional controls or enhanced data, obviously, but it was $150.  If I need more than that I borrow a shop scan tool.

Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter)
Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
1/20/22 11:30 a.m.

Torque Pro on my Android phone with a cheap bluetooth OBD2 dongle from Amazon.

06HHR (Forum Supporter)
06HHR (Forum Supporter) Dork
1/20/22 12:03 p.m.

I just picked this up Foxwell NT630 Plus

Needed a tool that could read ABS and airbag codes and reset steering angle sensors.  Was less than $150 on Bezos world, just saw them even cheaper on eBay.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/20/22 12:06 p.m.