SKJSS (formerly Klayfish)
SKJSS (formerly Klayfish) PowerDork
1/24/22 9:20 a.m.

Having a battery issue with my '11 128i.  I brought the car to the shop last week to have them patch a tire. They didn't do any other work to the car. The car was at the shop overnight and they patched the tire first thing in the morning. When I picked it up around 5pm, the battery was totally dead.  We jump started it and I drove home. I made sure the car was running for a good 40 minutes or so before shutting it off. Next morning...battery dead again. I pulled it out and took it to Autozone. They tested it and said it was bad. Bought a new battery and put it in. Next morning, brand new battery is dead. Charged it and ran the car for an hour. This time I went back out an hour later to see if it would start. It did, just fine. That was yesterday. This morning...dead again.

I'm new to the world of BMW ownership, only had this car a few months, and I love it. In doing some reading, I've read about having to register the battery. Mine has not been registered yet. Could that cause my issue? The battery I put in was the "best" Duralast battery available. When I drive the car and press the button to shut the engine off, the radio and nav screen are still active, even after I get out of the car. I think it's only active for a few minutes, but not 100% sure. It's been like that since I got the car and I never had a battery issue. Thoughts?

David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
1/24/22 9:26 a.m.
02Pilot
02Pilot UberDork
1/24/22 9:26 a.m.

Registering the battery basically tells the charge-on-demand system when to do its thing; it needs to know the condition of the battery to work most efficiently. I don't suspect that's your problem here, but the first step is going to be to put a scanner on it and get the codes. There was a recall on battery cables some time ago that caused a loss of power - it's probably been done, but worth checking just to be sure.

1/24/22 9:49 a.m.