1 2
Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand Director of Marketing & Digital Assets
5/17/20 9:18 a.m.

Long story short, I'm tired of repeatedly buying parts and supplies that I already own, but don't remember. Like 7/8 c clips. Or #4 aluminum washers for rivets. 

I have a plan and have already started, and think it will become a decent article, too, but before I go down this rabbit hole any further, what are you all using to keep track if everything?

Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter)
Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
5/17/20 9:36 a.m.

Put like things together, such as washers for rivets with the coffee can full of rivets, C clips in the C clip box. Truck parts in the Truck Parts box. Lexus parts on the Lexus shelf.

Note that I do databases for a living.  There is a point where it is not worth the data entry. 

Pete Gossett (Forum Supporter)
Pete Gossett (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/17/20 10:29 a.m.
Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter) said:

Put like things together, such as washers for rivets with the coffee can full of rivets, C clips in the C clip box. Truck parts in the Truck Parts box. Lexus parts on the Lexus shelf.

Note that I do databases for a living.  There is a point where it is not worth the data entry. 

QFT

wae (Forum Supporter)
wae (Forum Supporter) UltraDork
5/17/20 10:31 a.m.

Tom Suddard said:

what are you all using to keep track if everything?

hahahah!  That's really funny!

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/17/20 11:09 a.m.

Organization and the brains to remember to check before buying something. The first part is the easy part. 

5/17/20 11:44 a.m.

In reply to Tom Suddard :

Truthfully Tom, this is my setup I've dubbed the "Altar of Hardware". Ignore it's current disarrayed state...

Basically I have a bin I place any random/leftover/found hardware in, then I eventually get around to sorting it out. Though like Hess mentioned above, vehicle-specific parts stay in boxes/piles/shelves in my storeroom sorted by vehicle.