BlueInGreen - Jon
BlueInGreen - Jon UltraDork
12/12/21 10:13 p.m.

I'm helping someone car shop, and honestly kinda curious for myself.

They are good looking cars and I think I rode in the passenger seat of a base model 9-3 once. That's about the extent of my knowledge.

Advice, anecdotes, general info, or comments on durability/reliability? How do they compare to, say, a Ford Fusion or Mazda 6 from the same era?

Opti
Opti Dork
12/12/21 10:20 p.m.

Depends on the owner. Is this a normie? If so you probably don't want to recommend it to them, being an orphan brand. 

An enthusiast is completely different though.

I've read some stories on here about things like headlights being impossible to find. If it's not a normal service part or common failure assume it's going to take some hunting to find, and you can probably only go used.

I have little experience with them except a few years ago I was looking for some type of seal for one. It was the early turbo GM 2.0 but it's different from the later 2.0s that were widely used. Some researching found they were common in the UK but only used here In the Saab. I never found that seal.

02Pilot
02Pilot UberDork
12/12/21 10:22 p.m.

I had a base 9-5 for a few years. It was reasonably well-built, but this is well into the GM era, and the influence is apparent. It was supremely good at covering highway miles at speed, comfortable, and practical. Had some nice touches, like rear seat heaters, plus the nice, clear Saab dash layout. I only wish I had found a wagon, but maybe that's just me. The 9-3 with the hatch should be very practical as well. Not the most exciting car I've ever driven, but perfectly reasonable - it sort of felt like a Euro Camry to me. What I'd be worried about at this point is body panel availability, and maybe some other stuff as well.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/12/21 11:46 p.m.