1 2
frenchyd
frenchyd MegaDork
4/22/23 9:10 p.m.

All my life I've loved working on race cars. 
Lately though I lack energy.   It's not my age, or the 11 hours a day I work as a bus driver.  
     I wanted to quit, bow to the pressure my wife puts on me.  She hates my divided  loyalty, between her tasks for me to do and those I want  to do on the Jaguar. 
    But lately even when there is time nothing gets done. I offered  to give everything to my partner.   Just to satisfy my wife.  So far he's rejected it.  
 I don't know if that's because my lack of progress or  anger over my quitting..  

Patrick
Patrick GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/22/23 9:18 p.m.

Well for one, your wife should respect and value you enough to allow you hobby time for yourself. 

Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter)
Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter) Dork
4/22/23 9:19 p.m.

Drive down to the challenge. Meet all these people. Make new friends. It would be better to go enjoy yourself as a spectator this year than to wait for some future year when your car is complete and ready to participate. 

frenchyd
frenchyd MegaDork
4/22/23 10:01 p.m.

In reply to Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter) :

Thanks,   but I make a lousy spectator.  Not to mention the cost and time required just to meet some  very interesting and nice people.  

frenchyd
frenchyd MegaDork
4/22/23 10:02 p.m.
Patrick said:

Well for one, your wife should respect and value you enough to allow you hobby time for yourself. 

I agree 

frenchyd
frenchyd MegaDork
4/22/23 10:04 p.m.

I suffered from depression after losing my career following the 2008 recession.   This feels the same. 

Pete Gossett (Forum Supporter)
Pete Gossett (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/22/23 10:04 p.m.
frenchyd said:

In reply to Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter) :

Thanks,   but I make a lousy spectator.  Not to mention the cost and time required just to meet some  very interesting and nice people.