1 2 3 ... 8
wawazat
wawazat Dork
7/17/20 3:27 p.m.

I started riding about a year back and have come to really enjoy the time on my motorcycle, a 1973 Harley-Davidson custom FX-1200 bobber willed to me by my uncle.  The bike reminds me of him and his passion for it and his focus to create exactly what he wanted in a motorcycle.   I'm a different build than he was so the bike never fit me well.   I've made mods to it to increase my comfort level on it but it's the definition of a bar bike-short trips and lots of style and attitude.  Not great after A longer ride however.  Freeways were a challenge at best. 
I have wanted to take some longer road trips and see some of my customers who ride and had been looking at newer Triumph Bonneville's and other similar flat seat classic looking bikes like the 2014-2017 Honda CB-1100EX.  Wire spoke wheels are just something a motorcycle should ride on to me.  PITA to clean but the look is perfect to me.  I also dig a polished exhaust system down low on a street bike.  Poking around local CL one day I came across a an ad for a Ducati GT-1000.  I'd never heard of the model before though the sound a Ducati makes always catches my ear.   I scheduled a time to look at the bike the two days out but was told the next day it had sold.   That sent me down a Ducati rabbit hole learning about their Sport Classic series, a line of bikes that leant a lot on 1970's styling cues but with current power trains, fuel injection, brakes, and systems.  These bikes were made from 2006 until 2010 and went off the market just as the retro/classic look started to take off especially for Triumph.   

wawazat
wawazat Dork
7/17/20 3:41 p.m.