DaveEstey
DaveEstey PowerDork
11/24/21 10:21 p.m.

A couple friends and I have been racing Lemons for 6 years now, and our affection for junk is well proven with four wheels - so we decided to take the show to two wheels.

If you're not familiar with Reliability Rally https://reliabilityrally.com/

Our first time doing is of course at Tail of the Dragon in North Carolina. Did I mention we live in New Hampshire? Yeah it's going to be a hike. 

DaveEstey
DaveEstey PowerDork
11/24/21 10:24 p.m.

So we pondered for a long time different bikes ranging from Goldwings to more Goldwings and even one or two really awful bikes that weren't Goldwings. 

Then we found a listing for Three, 1981 Suzuki GS250X that were formerly Shriner's bikes. High mileage was 3,600 and the low mileage on is less than half that. We voted to send Ben since he's a shameless haggler. 

All three of them PLUS the trailer for $1,800. 

DaveEstey
DaveEstey PowerDork
11/24/21 10:34 p.m.

Ben kept his at home and I grabbed the other two and the trailer since I have the space and the self hatred to work on all three. 

The bikes were dirty, but obviously hadn't been worked over hard during their lives. A quick wash when I got them home had me feeling all kinds of positive feelings. 

Now it was just time to figure out what they needed and what could be done to ensure PEAK reliability. 

Step one is obviously throw some gas in and see if it will fire!

Unless you're me. Since I didn't know how things had been stored I pulled mine apart, checking for mice debris (none found!) and dumping the tank of old gas out. Luckily the gas was red from Stabil, but my paranoia knows no bounds. Off the carbs come!

And I found the first hiccup

One carb was missing 2 bolts and had been for a while. Further examination showed that the bowl drain was stripped out as well. Positive feelings GONE. 

Until I opened it up and everything was nice and clean.