1 2
pav5069
pav5069 Reader
11/1/16 11:20 a.m.

I am thinking about going back to school. I have my masters in sports medicine but after 5 years and no real money coming my way. Has been making me think about getting a new degree. I would love to hear what you are doing for a living and if you are enjoying it. Also any cons getting a computer sciences degree? The program I am looking at is all online and I would be able to keep on working, till I have the degree.

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
11/1/16 11:41 a.m.

No cons to a CS degree right NOW. Holy crap the salaries I saw being given to coders was stupid in Seattle.

Consider doing one of those 6 month coder boot camps. You'll be earning stupid money in record time. I saw it everyday in seattle.

monknomo
monknomo Reader
11/1/16 11:46 a.m.

I skipped the CS degree, but I'm working as a programmer. It's a federal gig and I make systems that help count fish. I mostly work on the system that people report how much fish they caught and where. It's fun work, with a good team and it pays pretty well.

I don't think there are any cons to a CS degree, but there is a certain level of degree snobbery that I've observed - fancier schools (MIT, Stanford, CMU) are weighted much more heavily than everything else. That said, only one of the people I work with has a CS degree, and only one of the people I work with has a degree from a fancy school.

When we hire, we look for (insofar as the federal hiring process allows) technical ability, logical organization and most importantly the ability and willingness to learn new things. Even though we're mostly riding herd on a suite of CRUD apps, an OLTP system and a data warehouse, we generally are doing something new - that is something that we've never done before. The novelty makes constant learning part of the job. It's also pretty important to learn from our mistakes - we all make them, but we try not to make the same mistake twice.