mslevin
mslevin GRM+ Memberand New Reader
2/17/22 2:52 a.m.

I have a PDF which has a variety of sizes of templates that I'd like to have cut out of thing metal or polycarbonate. I'd like to try out SendCutSend for this as it seems pretty straightforward and I've heard lots of good things about it. 

The question is: what is the best way to get a cuttable/usable design/drawing when I have a PRF with the template? The template is to scale on the PDF, and the critical dimensions are posted as well. I have some experience with SketchUp and Illustrator (SCS can take an AI file apparently). 

Any input is appreciated. I'd like to avoid having to buy new software for this as I'm unlikely to do much other modeling anytime soon! 

The templates in question here are the NASA Tire Section Width Tool templates, which can be seen here

akylekoz
akylekoz SuperDork
2/17/22 6:28 a.m.

My Laser guy here could work from those drawings to cut those.  Why do you need a solid Model?  I could model those in a few minutes and send a file.  Our Laser likes DWG files a generic Step file will work for most CNC programmers.  I run SolidWorks and can translate out to most other formats.

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
2/17/22 6:54 a.m.

He doesn't need a model, he is saying he needs a .dxf or similar. 

It has been many many years, but I think Inkscape allows you to convert pdf to various vector formats?  I think .dxf is in that group 

OHSCrifle
OHSCrifle GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
2/17/22 7:12 a.m.

Following. Curious. Those do appear to be PDF straight outta software (vector files) not scans so it should be possible.. also about fifteen minutes of effort to reproduce if you have cad and a "stencil" font. 

Furious_E (Forum Supporter)
Furious_E (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
2/17/22 9:12 a.m.