1 2
Beer Baron
Beer Baron PowerDork
12/21/12 11:06 a.m.

I know cooking with cast iron has come up on here before, but the fiancee just got me a cast iron skillet for my birthday last and I am looking for any tips or tricks.

Skillet was new but came pre-seasoned. I know it still needs to be broken in for best results. So far I am frying up bacon before cooking anything else in the pan to be sure it's nice and greased. I am not using soap. I am cleaning it while it's still warm, drying it immediately, and then giving it a thin layer of cooking oil to protect it.

Any other care, usage, or recipe suggestions now that I've got this bad boy?

JohnRW1621
JohnRW1621 PowerDork
12/21/12 11:25 a.m.

You will be able to pass this pan down to your grandchildren - they last that long!

I have seen the talk here of "care" but I have been using the same one for 15+ years. It has been wrongly put in the dishwasher by my then new wife (no harm.) It dented the flooring in my old kitchen from dropping (no harm to pan.) It has been washed w/ soap and washed w/o (no harm.) The darn things are indestructible. I have a 12" and a 8". I have a glass/clear lid from a different 12" pan that fits the iron perfect. Mine are both Lodge Brand.

I now have a super fancy Induction Cooktop but I am happy to report that the iron works perfectly on it.

My preferred cleaning method is hot water and steel wool pad.

My mother still uses the same one that was "old" when I was a kid. There won't be many heirlooms in my family but I would like to get that pan when she is done with it.

fast_eddie_72
fast_eddie_72 UltraDork
12/21/12 11:27 a.m.

I seasoned mine when I moved out of my parents house. That's been a long while ago so can't remember exactly. I think you just rub oil on it and bake it for a bit. Since then, I just wipe it out with a paper towel after use. You're not supposed to scrub them as I understand it. It sits on the stove all the time and is my go to for a lot of cooking.

Ranger50