fasted58
fasted58 MegaDork
1/28/22 10:30 p.m.

I was prompted to post this after watching a popular car guy on YT (300K subs) cut open used oil filters in his shop after several comments had suggested it. Once the outer skin was removed he looked in the element and between some pleats and basically said nothing to see here, I will never cut open another oil filter again. He should have cut open the filter from the C5 which was rapping badly instead of a DD. He does agree on using oil analysis. 

I disagree somewhat, I've been cutting open oil filters for 30 years, mainly on fresh rebuilds through break in, then later at 10-15k miles. SAE 30 initial on flat tappet SBCs and SBFs.  

I used a screwdriver and hammer to pop a hole in the skin then used aviation snips to cut it away down to the mounting flange.  Use a sharp knife to cut the pleats away from the metal, remove the pleats and spread them flat and examine.

What I've learned: On the first oil filter after rebuild I've found metal flecks, RTV and paint that I would call normal. Safe to say I think I'd know what excessive metal would look like. Cut open 2nd oil filter after 2-3K of recommended oil. Follow up later at 10-15k. Fortunately, I've never found anything excessive but it was worth the look to me. Also use a magnetic drain plug.

Only took 20 minutes start to finish including clean up. Cheap insurance to me. If I had found any excessive metal I'd stop right there. 

I've also routinely cut open oil filters on race engines at oil changes. Basic CYA to catch something early. 

As oil analysis has become more mainstream now for those who subscribe I still find cutting open oil filters valuable on rebuilds and race engines. Maybe that 'ran when parked' vehicle you dragged home but don't know why it was parked.

What does GRM think?

drock25too
drock25too Reader
1/28/22 11:16 p.m.