1 2 3 4
ShadowSix
ShadowSix Dork
12/26/13 12:57 p.m.

Background: I was an Army Combat Engineer Officer, I did about 26 months total in Iraq, all in and around Baghdad. I led a platoon in a handful of firefights during my first tour. I've qualified on: M16, M4, M9 (9mm Beretta handgun), M249 SAW, M240B, M2 .50 Cal, Mk19, M500 (SI shotgun, I think it's a Mossberg?), AT4 (anti-tank rocket, just the training round unfortunately ), I also did some kind of enemy weapons familiarization thing where I got to shoot a few rounds through an AK-47, a bunch of demolitions, etc. I have personally owned a Glock 19 and an old bolt-action .22LR.

I'm curious where you all get information to develop opinions on self-defense. Is there a GRM Board for guns out there somewhere? I ask because some of the things people have said about guns on this board are absolutely dead-on (like I wonder if the poster is in law enforcement, or some sort of security expert), and others are the gun equivalent of recommending a 2003 VW Jetta Turbo as a cheap reliable commuter to someone with no mechanical skills, so clearly there are good and bad sources out there.

I'm not really looking for anything in particular (well, once money is a little less tight I want to get a nice Remington 700, but that's a different thread ), just a place to skim from time to time.

EDIT: I forgot the H&K G36, I qualified on that at a Luftwaffe base. What a great rifle, how could I forget!

DanielCut
DanielCut New Reader
12/26/13 1:00 p.m.

In reply to ShadowSix: Check out glocktalk.com Lots of good info on there and not just about glocks.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla PowerDork
12/26/13 1:03 p.m.