1 2 3 ... 5
PMRacing
PMRacing GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
12/7/20 2:31 p.m.

Would you go down the same path? What would you do instead? 

I'm a mechanical engineer in the automotive industry. I think I would have gone to a welding/fabrication trade school instead and have my own business working on racecars. 

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
12/7/20 2:35 p.m.

Medicine..  I'd be an ER doc.  Yeah.. I'm crazy.

practically.. I'd be a dermatologist and charge people bank for botox.

trucke
trucke SuperDork
12/7/20 2:35 p.m.

My undergrad was Mechanical Engineering then earned an MBA while working in industry.  I'm an Engineering Manager for a dietary supplement company.  It's a good gig and the company has done well this past year. 

Spent time in automotive and consumer products.  I understand the stress in the automotive industry. 

There are other opportunities out there.  Lots of breweries around here needing engineers.

To answer the question...no changes.  I like what I'm doing!

docwyte
docwyte UberDork
12/7/20 2:36 p.m.

Would've liked to have gone to the Air Force Academy and flown planes, either heavies or an A10.

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
12/7/20 2:37 p.m.
PMRacing said:

I think I would have gone to a welding/fabrication trade school instead and have my own business working on racecars. 

Alot of engineers I speak with have the same desire..  I'm toying with the idea of buying a shop of some sort.  Boomers are retiring fast and selling their businesses..  2% business loans right now.

example https://www.bizbuysell.com/Business-Opportunity/established-precision-machining-business/1792814?d=L21pY2hpZ2FuL21hbnVmYWN0dXJpbmctYnVzaW5lc3Nlcy1mb3Itc2FsZQ==

mtn (Forum Supporter)
mtn (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
12/7/20 2:39 p.m.