Curtis73 (Forum Supporter)
Curtis73 (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/19/22 12:15 p.m.

I've been given the task of procuring a keyboard for the theater, but I'm a vocalist not a pianist and severely out of the loop on the tech.  We have an upright that we use for rehearsals but it is in pretty sad shape.  It's also a one-trick pony.  I can't just throw it in the car for a performance, nor is it a quality sound.  It just makes noise and doesn't suck.

Will be used as a rehearsal piano, but will also be used in performances so it needs to be synth.  I need to put it in front of a pianist in a pit orchestra and have them hook up their iPad and make patchy/soundy things happen.  Obviously does not need amp/speakers.  Occasional recording/midi duties.

barefootcyborg5000
barefootcyborg5000 PowerDork
5/19/22 12:29 p.m.

I was shopping for my brother a while ago, though he didn't end up actually buying as his rav needed a new rack that week and then life... anyway, do you have a budget? It seemed like for an 88 key (weighted) synth, prices for non-junk seemed to start around $400. Of course the sky is the limit on the other end. 

Less keys opens up options, or there are small synth/midi keyboards that are quite capable for pretty cheap. Most are like two octave keyboards but have sample/drum pads and other tools. Do you could get aYamaha piaggero 76 key piano for $329 on Sweetwater and add anAkai mpk mini for "other stuff" for $120. Bonus points for having 80s synth band stacked keyboard stage presence. 

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/19/22 12:30 p.m.

This is not a "search noob" post, but we did have quite a discussion on keyboards here recently. Of which you were a part :)

https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/off-topic-discussion/electric-keyboard-piano-recommendations/184529/page1/