1 2 3
Brett_Murphy (Forum Patrón)
Brett_Murphy (Forum Patrón) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/8/20 7:44 p.m.

You'd think it's a simple topic, but I've kind of gotten myself into analysis paralysis.

My wife wants a she-shed. She wants somewhere that's weatherproof, will have electricity, air conditioning and a real floor, that she can keep clean and do crafts and stuff in and get away from the kids. 

I looked into the Leonard sheds (wow, expensive) and some of the units at Lowe's (seem to get expensive when you add options.)

I can nail boards together at right angles if I try and follow a plan. Should I just try to build my own? If I keep it smaller than 12' in any dimension, I don't have to meet residential code. What kind of expense am I looking at for a shed like in the plan, without the large barn doors, but with a couple of windows, a linoleum floor and a finished interior? Am I better off starting with one of the pre-built kits from Lowe's?

Since building is what i do for a living i lean toward DIY.  Your location can have some effect on cost, but not too much.  I think you could probably build something in the 12 x 12 range for under ~$6,500 (materials).  I'm figuring insulation, A/C, double pane windows, lighting, Hardie siding, architecture shingle roof, painted... turn key.

Figure roughly $50/square foot for materials and you will probably do it for less.

Jay_W
Jay_W SuperDork
6/8/20 9:13 p.m.

If you buy one of the kits from say Lowe's or home depot, reinforce the floor way more than I did. I thought adding a couple 2x4's would be enough. It wasn't. Our shed floor looks lime the sort of thing you'd see in a carnival funhouse. 

EfiniMotorsport
EfiniMotorsport New Reader
6/8/20 9:46 p.m.