1 2
Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/6/22 2:16 a.m.

I know I'm not the only Warhammer nerd on here, let's get a thread going. For those of you unfamiliar, it's the biggest tabletop game in the world made by a company in the UK called Games Workshop. The most popular version is Warhammer 40,000 (commonly called 40K) that's basically a sci-fi / high fantasy mash up in a grimdark setting that's wildly over the top.

I've been playing since 2nd edition in 1996ish. I might be more into this hobby than even cars...

I started a new army a couple of weeks ago the "Astra Militarum" (Imperial Guard to us old players) that I'm customizing as multiple regiments on a snow covered world. Here's what they look like now:

These guys and girls are the quintessential underdogs, actual normal humans fighting a galaxy full of immortal demons, sentient fungus, psychic elves, and insane robots.

I love this hobby because the background is truly impressively deep (Black Library has been printing books for over 40 years and there's an animation channel called Warhammer Plus with all sorts of content) and you have the freedom to build and invent to your heart's content. In fact narrative play is one of the most popular ways to play. 

My "main army" is Orks though. They are absolutely hilarious and literally have rules for red painted things going faster simply because they believe it's true. 

So where are the rest of you? 

dclafleur
dclafleur Reader
5/6/22 8:00 a.m.

How timely I haven't played for a couple of years (last game I played was probably in 7th edition) but went and watched a friends game this weekend. I'm an old Guard player too although I have bits from other armies that I've painted over the years.  Digging through my photos it looks like I last went on a model building and painting spree in 2015 which makes me feel a touch old..

Beer Baron
Beer Baron MegaDork
5/6/22 9:07 a.m.

You know why it's called 40k?

Because that's how much you have to spend.

cheeky