1 2 3 4
Colin Wood
Colin Wood Associate Editor
8/19/21 10:39 a.m.

My wife purchased a Polaroid-like instant camera (or maybe it was a gift, I don't really remember) not too long ago, and I've really enjoyed how easy and fun it is to point and shoot with it and the physical aspect of having a moment captured in time. Plus, I really like how the lo-fi look that a lot of pictures have.

My point is that I want a similar camera that I can snap photos with and still get a physical photo to have. The thing is, I'd like to have a little more control over focus and lighting and what-not (I'm not sure what else, I'm far from a professional), but I don't know if I should go out and get something like Canon AE-1 or more of a "toy camera" from a website like this since I'm not serious about film photography at the moment–I just like the way it looks.

I'd appreciate whatever input you have.

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
8/19/21 10:48 a.m.

My first camera was one of these.  I've still got it kicking around here somewhere https://www.ebay.com/itm/184891897312?hash=item2b0c6a75e0:g:Ky0AAOSw9ctgypzJ

Great camera for a beginner and a fairly decent camera for someone that knows what they're doing.

Also, this: 

Colin Wood said:

the physical aspect of having a moment captured in time

The pressure of the shutter button, and the sound.  There's nothing like a proper film camera's shutter sound, it feels like someone cut that moment out of the world.

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/19/21 10:51 a.m.

Lomos have a very specific look to it and basically can't do anything else, so they're not very versatile.

An SLR would be a lot more versatile and might come in handy if you have glass that would fit. Although a lot of the high quality "retro" bodies are not AF.