1 2 3 ... 10
hybridmomentspass
hybridmomentspass Reader
11/3/21 9:35 a.m.

It's likely been discussed before, but curious what you all do for work.

Im a high school history teacher, American History is my thing, but they've got me doing some Civics/Gov classes this year. 

I tell stories for a living and love it. To have some kids decide they want to go into history or teaching because of the impact youve made - yeah, totally worth it. Im at a great school in the Triad of North Carolina and super happy. On my seventh year (plus one for student teaching) and have no desire to change.

What about you folks?

Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
11/3/21 9:43 a.m.

I do mental health housing subsidies and case management as well as crisis intervention. 

Its pretty wild sometimes. 

Professor_Brap (Forum Supporter)
Professor_Brap (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
11/3/21 9:44 a.m.

Commercial ammonia refrigeration, general welding/fabrication and building/vehicles maintenance and manager. That's my day job or the best description of it. 

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ PowerDork
11/3/21 9:44 a.m.

I design stuff for police cars, mostly.  They let me work 4 day weeks so I keep doing it.

Duke
Duke MegaDork
11/3/21 9:48 a.m.
hybridmomentspass said:

Im a high school history teacher, American History is my thing, but they've got me doing some Civics/Gov classes this year.

Halle-berking-looyah.  Please make the most of that before they decide to take it away again.  Lack of Civics education is a lot of why we're in this mess.

I'm an architect, mostly specializing in K-12 educational work, but really doing anything except healthcare.

At least for a couple more years.

hybridmomentspass
hybridmomentspass Reader
11/3/21 9:52 a.m.
Duke said:
hybridmomentspass said:

Halle-berking-looyah.  Please make the most of that before they decide to take it away again.  Lack of Civics education is a lot of why we're in this mess.