Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/29/21 10:52 p.m.

Disclaimer: This does NOT remove rust, it just removes rust stains on vertical surfaces.

Dad is a restoration expert by trade, antique furniture.  Trained in the mystic restoration arts by those in the darkest corners of the Smithsonian institute.  His knowledge is vast and strange and heavily focused in chemistry.  He worked this up to help with some old rust stains on my Herter's boat.  He tested everything on his VW van.  I'll probably test it on multiple rusty projects we have
We have a lot of rust in the family.

I will now post it verbatim with the pictures he sent to help describe the process. The only edit I will make is separating the final paragraph into the three separate tests for clarity.

To remove rust on vertical surfaces.  Mixed approximately equal parts (by bulk) of methylcellulose powder and oxalic acid crystals, wet it with a supersaturated solution of more oxalic acid, let it stand overnight to gel.  I tried different methods of application, I got it slightly too liquid, it sags on the surface.

I know the lower part of the Van below the windows had been repainted; I figure the big irregular oval on the right side was a dent, the ring of rust around it is improperly-primed metal around bondo, the metal was bare when they sanded down the bondo in the middle.  Bondo is shrinkage/age-checked, but you can only see that up close and in raking light.

1. The first test spot with the long run below it was left on overnight; that was too long, the acid sucked the red out of the orange paint, and it feels blistered to the touch, I assume that's rust spots under the paint. 
  2. The second spot was perfect (for getting the rust stain out of the paint, it doesn't fix the problem of rust underneath it); I just dabbed some on with my fingertip, let it dry, about two hours.