1 2 3 ... 8
docwyte
docwyte SuperDork
11/1/16 4:50 p.m.

Ok, picked this up about 6 months ago and its about time I started a thread.

I've been eyeing this particular car for the past 6 years. I wanted it back then but my friend wasn't ready to sell it, so I bought my 951. Which instantly blew a motor and I did an LS swap in but that's another story.

Anyways, he put it up for sale 5 years ago but I was already elbows in on my LS/951 so I passed on it. It went through another few sets of owners but stayed local. Then it was put up for sale last winter and by that time I was ready to move on from the LS/951.

The timing worked out, the 951 sold quickly and I was able to jump on the M3 before the owner deployed.

So, the stats. It's a '98 M3 artic silver with dove interior. The 1st owner did most of the mods and set the car up as a NASA TTC car. Besides all the typical intake, M50 manifold, exhaust, coilover mods it had some really nice stuff like long tube headers, oil pan baffles, tack welded oil pump nut, all the chassis reinforcements done and the dual fuel pump kit installed.

It also came with a TC Kline rollbar, VAC motorsports seat mounts, a Maximum Motorsports front splitter and a geniune, OEM BMW lightweight rear wing with riser blocks. The wing is NLA and really, really hard to find now, so I'm particularly stoked about that.

I still had my Recaro SPG XL's from my 951, so I installed them on the VAC plates along with my Momo steering wheel. I also put in a Rogue Engineering quick release hub. It moves the wheel closer to me, which I prefer, plus I can take off the wheel if I need to. One thing I don't like is the non tilt column on the M3, I wish I could tilt the wheel down some.