1 2 3 4
sethmeister4
sethmeister4 New Reader
11/19/11 10:00 p.m.

I know every human being loves giving their opinion, so I am asking for yours now. If I need to spend more $ on bodywork for my 240sx than I spent on the car, I may sell it and find another DD/project. I have always wanted a turbo car, and I think it would just be easier to start with a car that came turbo from the factory. So, to that end, I am looking for what you think is the best factory turbo car from the 80's or 90's (think $2k or less). A few necessities/musts: Japanese, some sort of backseat for the babyseat in an emergency, manual trans. It can be 2 dr or 4 dr, hatchback, sedan, wagon, whatever. Just throw out your favorites, why they are your favorite, and what are your first recommendations for mods. I am a Nissan mechanic and a Nissan nut, but I will keep an open mind for other brands too. :-) Ready...set...GO!

jrw1621
jrw1621 SuperDork
11/19/11 10:45 p.m.

Best for under $2k will likely be a Chrysler 2.2L
I am partial to the Lancer/LeBaron GTS twins...
...but can be had in 2dr, 4dr, convertible, hatch, trunk, wagon, mini-van, mini-pickup and all with manual trans.

evildky
evildky Dork
11/19/11 10:46 p.m.

280zx turbo, prices range from free to 20k, turbo 2+2's are common, or you can add the turbo to the 2+2 of your picking, 200 whp can be made wiht a boost controller, 300 whp with an intercooler and if you want to dig intot he engine and electronics they have been known to hit 600 whp

turbo ford, the 2.3 turbo came in the stang, the T bird, and Cougar as well as the merkur xr4ti, can easilly swapped into any fox body family car, 300 whp is pretty easy to come by on these as well, more if you want to get spendy

coll9947
coll9947 Reader
11/19/11 10:48 p.m.

Talon/Eclipse/Laser?

Might be tough to find one under $2k that doesn't need lots of love.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
11/19/11 10:49 p.m.

DSM

/thread

corytate
corytate HalfDork
11/19/11 10:53 p.m.