1 2
Zachary
Zachary
12/31/18 2:41 p.m.

I recently bought a 96 Roadmaster wagon and I'd like to lift it 1-2 inches to fit some 31-32 inch all terrains on it. The rear is already pretty high and may not need anything, but the front will need a boost to fit beefier tires. I plan on some bumper trimming, off road driving lights, skid plates, to get a grandpa's rally, prerunner, adventure kinda vibe going. Does any one know what springs will fit the front to give it the mild lift I'm looking for? I'd like to avoid coil spacers and add a little wheel travel if possible. Thanks!

Run_Away
Run_Away GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/31/18 3:13 p.m.

I have no experience with what you're asking, but I'm sure the donk crowd would know what to do.

grover
grover GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
12/31/18 3:18 p.m.

We’re going to need some photos. 

ebonyandivory
ebonyandivory PowerDork
12/31/18 3:26 p.m.
Zachary
Zachary New Reader
1/1/19 9:09 p.m.

In reply to ebonyandivory :

I have investigated the donk kits, but they are questionably engineered and more lift then I am looking for. I am wondering, since GM made B-bodies for so many years, if there is another spring from a different application that will fit and give a modest boost. The easy path would be a 1, or 1.5 inch spacer, but perhaps there is an off the shelf spring I can put in with some longer shocks. Is there a way to determine this?

Zachary
Zachary New Reader
1/1/19 9:12 p.m.

In reply to grover :

I'll put up some photos of its current condition. It came with a dented fender (with a non-matching replacement) and a failing custom paint job. It also came with a rebuilt transmission that shifts nice and firm, and a posi rearend with 3.73 gears. It moves the considerable heft of the wagon along quite nicely!

Toebra
Toebra Dork
1/1/19 11:24 p.m.

Wouldn't the Roadmaster wagon be the heaviest car on that chassis, so it would already have the stoutest springs?  Maybe something off a hearse or an ambulance?

Antihero