NickD
NickD MegaDork
5/3/24 2:58 p.m.

So, I let a guy I've been autocrossing with for 9 years codrive my MR2 Spyder at the first event this season, and during the event he expressed interest in co-driving the car with me for the entirety of the season. He lives 150 miles from our closest venue and while he's purchased an NB2 to prepare for E/Street he did point out that it'd be a lot easier to drive his regular daily driver Chevy Volt down and hop in my Spyder with me. I understand that and I'm okay with him as a codriver; he's very fast but he doesn't really abuse cars and I've never seen him even put a car in the grass. Now I've only ever had codrivers for a single event, and usually I just have them pay for my entry fee. But I feel like if I had a codriver for an entire season, that's a different story. So, any of you have full season codrivers and what do you do for a deal? Right now I'm thinking that he cover my entry fees and chip in half of a set of fresh tires. 

camopaint0707
camopaint0707 HalfDork
5/3/24 3:02 p.m.

If it's a one time thing, I'll pay the ax entry fee.  Whole season, (which I've done), offered to split the cost of 275/35/15 hoosiers which the owner declined.  Paid our own entry to events, helped out on the car when needed, agreed if you stuffed it into a wall, that person is responsible for a new car.  Pretty much kept my wallet open for expenses for him but he was a tad too nice so I offered my labor instead.  In your scenario, split the tires with the guy.  Don't make him pay your entry fee ALL season.  Half jokingly say get you a case of your favorite cold beverage.

Motojunky
Motojunky New Reader
5/3/24 4:34 p.m.

My co-driver is my daughter... I pay for everything. 

I might need to rethink that deal! 

prodarwin
prodarwin MegaDork
5/3/24 4:42 p.m.

I've driven a whole season with a few different people, generally I paid for most/all of a set of tires and also had a lot of sweat equity in the cars.

theruleslawyer
theruleslawyer Reader