JoeTR6
JoeTR6 New Reader
12/1/09 7:37 p.m.

A friend of mine and I have been co-driving a TR6 at autocrosses for the last 10 years. Last year, the engine was suffering from low oil pressure and starting to make some scary knocking noises, so we pulled it for a rebuild. I suspect the triple DCOE Webers are washing down the cylinder walls with fuel that is ending up in the oil. To me, EFI seems to be a better way to get roughly the same power with improved controllability.

What do you guys think? The engine already has enough mods to make use of the extra flow the Webers provide. We also have an older Electromotive direct-fire ignition, so do not need spark control from the EFI (unless there's some particular advantage to coupling the fuel and ignition management). I'm just getting started looking at info on Megasquirt's website, but so far this seems very doable. That, and I've been itching to try it for years. Or maybe I'm just tired of smelling like unburned hydrocarbons.

Raze
Raze Reader
12/1/09 7:49 p.m.

MegaSquirt shall set you free, after a painful trial by fire

Seriously though, if you've thought about it, go for it! Just read the manual a few times, figure out your options, ask over on MSEFI any specific questions, and then go after a kit someone can provide support for --> This is where I plugg DIYAutoTune and Matt Cramer who posts on MSEFI and also here as MadScientist, we blew out some components on ours after it was running for 2 years by accidentally bridging some components on the board and within a few posts Matt had us pointed in the right direction and we had it fixed the following weekend. I can't stress enough asking questions as you go, instead of throwing your hands up in frustration, being diligent and asking questions will get you a long way with MegaSquirt...

For you I would start searching TR6 conversions from carb to EFI and what all you'll need there first, then worry about MS...

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess SuperDork
12/1/09 8:51 p.m.